For all user Gmail, Photos and Drive service users have been warned about dramatic changes to their accounts for months but the new rules finally take effect starting tomorrow, June 1st. Google first sent out a warning late last year explaining that it changed its terms to allow companies to delete accounts and remove content without the need for permission from users. The update will affect anyone with a Gmail, Drive, or Photos account and can see all of their data straight to the digital trash.
In an email sent to users, Google said: “We want to inform you that we recently announced a new retention policy for Google Accounts using Gmail, Google Drive (including Google Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drawings, Forms, and Jamboard files). ) and / or Google Photos which keeps us in line with industry practice. All of your content can be removed “
Now, before you start rushing into a crazy panic, as long as you use your account regularly, you won’t be affected by this new change.
“If you’re inactive for 2 years (24 months) in Gmail, Drive or Photos, we may delete the content in the product(s) in which you’re inactive. If you exceed your storage limit for 2 years, we may delete your content across Gmail, Drive and Photos,” the firm said.
The other thing to note is that the new rules come into force on June 1 2021 meaning nothing will be deleted until at least June 1 2023.
If you haven’t touched your Photos for Gmail for a long time, Google will inform you a number of times before hitting the delete button so users shouldn’t lose any content without hearing about it first.
Along with Google now being able to remove content, there’s another big change that comes into force from tomorrow as well.
Until now, Google Photos users have been able to upload endless pictures to the cloud without having to pay a penny for the privilege.